New PC Build Part 6 Zalman 9500 on Evga 680i Mb


Finally I get my ass into gear to rebuild the new PC and find i have lost the thermal paste đŸ™‚

Also the Zalman 9500 HSF uses a back plate and the MB unfortunately has a couple of condensers ( that’s capacitors to you younguns ) that protrude from the back of the MB and stop the back plate from fitting nicely.

I had to modify  the back plate to allow it to sit on the mother board I finally got round to doing this this weekend.  I did it by tracing round the back plate on a sheet of tracing paper and using that to locate which bit of the back plate I needed to modify.

 

aj011

 

I could then use this see through template to mark which bits of the back plate I needed to cut away – i use a pair of cutters – you could use a dremmel and i may use my little drill kit to tidy up the cutout bits before finally installing the heat sink only 6months after i brought the MB ! That’s assuming I can remember to by some thermal paste before next weekend

2 thoughts on “New PC Build Part 6 Zalman 9500 on Evga 680i Mb

  1. USING STOCK INTEL IS OK FOR ME COZ I NEVER OVERCLOCKED MY P4 3.0 but needs oiling after a year or so. My system is P4 3.0, 1GB DDR RAM( I KNOW IT SUCKS) BUT IT WAS OK LAST 2 YEARS, A MSI FX5500 ALSO OK LAST 2 YEARS AND A PCCHIPS BOARD WITH VIA P4M800 CHIPSET. VERY WEAK HUH? BUT IF U KNOW HOW TO MAKE THE MOST OUT OF UR MONEY, U CAN PLAY ALL KINDS OF GAMES

Leave a Reply

