Pc Express card Dell cock up


As part of my wifi course I have been putting together a tool kit to help with the course and just for general interest – unfortunately some one at Dell has been taking a leaf out of Apples playbook (ie treat your customers with contempt)

Turns out that Dell on a lot of their latitude laptops only install the new (so new there are hardly any cards for it) pc express cards – and hence the high end PCMCIA card I just brought at the wifi shop is now useless!!.

FFS guys when you introduce a new pc standard the idea is you run it in parallel for so that you don’t alienate a large number of your customers I used to recommend Dell – I won’t be doing so in future.

What makes it worse is that exteraly the slot looks 99.99% like a PCMCIA slot so from eaven a close inspection its very very hard to tell that its not a PCMCIA.

Reminds me of the wap standards fiasco’s and the amateur night rubbish prevalent in the PHP/Mysql codebase (Magic cookies add slashes etc)

So avoide the dell latitude range if you want to add any PCMCIA

5 thoughts on “Pc Express card Dell cock up

  1. Just got a new HP 6200 series. Guess what. It only has Express Card. No pcmcia slot. My compact flash card adapter is now useless. I ended up getting a usb reader for the cf. I have only managed to find a tv express card and one for compact flash but they cost too much.

  2. In August, I bought a Compaq laptop in Dallas. No bells and whistles, but it does have the new express slot. I wanted a desktop replacement for an aging Win98 system. I searched on the web for possible cards, but have only in the last month found TV cards (awaiting supply) from Avermedia. I guess patience is a necessity rather thasn a virtue. I would say that life (strangely) does not stand still and PC companies are always looking to bring out something new to generate fresh sales and hopefully improve their products. So when purchasing, keep your eyes open, study the spec and as the saying goes, “you pays yer money, you makes yer choice”. The responsibility should always be on the buyer “to beware”. When you’re spending your hard earned money on expensive electronic equipment, you should take the time to ensure that what you are buying will meet your needs. I can only add that PC manufacturers should actively encourage third party companies to produce the accessories that would encourage further sales of their new equipment. Then we’d all be happy.

  3. I just got stung by Dell on this also. And to make matters worse I have to pay to have the computer returned to Dell for credit.

    The Customer No Service rep I talked to said it “was my responsibility to learn about new technologies”. I bought mine from a Dell kiosk in Austin (I am now in Albany, OR) andfor kicks I called the Kiosk and ask the PCMCIA slot was. He told me on the left front. I then ask him to take the plastic filler out and tell me what shape it is. That is when he knew that it was not the standard PCMCIA slot.

    So for me it is “Goodby Mr. Dell, Hello Mr. HP or Mr Sony”.

Leave a Reply

